Victims are annoying.

Especially ones with the communications skills of an 8 year old and the emotional maturity level even less. I am frustrated and annoyed by someone I must deal with on a semi-daily basis that their first response to any type of communication is, effectively, “I’ve been done wrong” That’s their opening statement to any kind of problem that you’ve brought up.

It doesn’t seem to matter that their behavior is on the level of a spoiled brat. I am tired of playing mother to this person and telling him to act in a more mature and adult manner. He is an adult, even finished college!

The saddest part is that being a victim means that life is limited and limiting to you. I see him doing more damage to himself than those around him. He’s annoying to us in his victim-hood but is limiting his growth and potential. I see that as a sadder result than the annoyance I feel.

I wish that I didn’t have to deal with him, it wears on my energy and my fun. I wish, just for once, that he had the maturity to stop and think about his behavior and his attack upon those around him. It’s stressful for everyone involved. Some people that have to deal with him detach and effectively hide from almost any interaction with him. Previous friends of his said that they walked away from the friendship soley because they could not deal any longer. Sadly, I am stuck in a situation where I have to deal. So how? How to deal with someone who accuses of the craziest things, out of the blue, who is always the victim and never responsible for his own part in the problem?

How?

(Yes, this is marked a rant. It’s a valid rant. I will get over it all and move on with my life. I wish I had better tools at hand to deal with the interactions of this person. I wish I had more sympathy for him. I wish I could give him some maturity. I wish he were not a drain on my energy. I wish, yes, for better tools. But at the end of the day I understand the parents that throw up their hands and say “ARGH! I hope they grow out of it!”)

~ by mud on April 22, 2007.

 
