Weaving. Woven. To weave. To intertwine.

I finally figured out the common thread. (no pun intended) My love of music and stories from other cultures has a reason that it is so appealing to me. Two bits. You tie them together and see the whole picture.

Rythms. Rythms from Africa are different. They’re woven, multi-layered, and changeable. They flow and ebb. I’ve never really noticed until I danced to Touri the other night. The rest of the audience of dancers seemed “off” or to struggle with the rythm. Except for the Africans. I enjoyed the woven rythms but I saw a lot of people sit down after struggling to find the rythm and to stick with it. It wasn’t until he played a basic 1/4 and then a 2/4 that most of the audience danced. I’ve also never seen such a wonderful guitarist change keys so often and so much on a whim. He was definitly skilled! It was a wonderful show, mostly because he was playing in the truest sense of play – to have fun, to goof off.

So the lesson here: odd keys, rhythms that change during the middle of a song.

Next bit. I’ve always loved Native American stories. I used to think that I loved them because of the world they described, the “nostalgia” the “idealized world” that they tell of. But no, that’s not it. I love their method of storytelling because it fits with my understanding of the world. Their stories are interwoven. Two, three stories are told at the same time and re-inforce eachother’s method. That takes skill. The endings are never simple and never “resolved” in our worldview. This fits better with my worldview and my understanding of impermanence. They tell stories of change that is impermanent. They tell haunting, beautiful, real stories. Not prozac stories. I’ve come to realize that most of the stories western books and movies tell are prozac stories. Where if you swallow the pill everything will end happily ever after. It doesn’t.

I prefer the truth of impermanence.

Our understanding of people, the world, and life grows and matures. It moves on. I realized that there is pleasure in retelling stories. The video I made 3 or 4 years ago I would make differently today. It would be the same story. But not. It would have matured, based upon my life experiences and my worldview maturing and changing. It might have different nuances.

So the pattern that emerges is that I like the cultures that have retained the ability to weave. To weave stories. To weave music.

For excellent weaving inspiration read “The Truth about Stories” by King.

~ by mud on June 3, 2007.

 
