Philosophy

I always loved my philosophy classes.  I liked the exploration of the world.  I was never one much for “schools” of philosphy or particular names attached to different lines of thinking.  Each one was a new vista for me.

One name that I never read, for obvious reasons now, was Heidegger.  I had occasion to come across a bit of his work recently and was struck by one thing that stood out.  A nugget, if you will.

The difference, and therefore the importance, of both calculative and meditative thought.  We have a great deal of calculative thought (problem solving, which I excel and love) and quite a bit less of meditative thought in our society.

Maybe this lack of balance creates some of the unhappiness we have in today’s society?

~ by mud on July 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
