All alone on a Friday night.

Well… that’s not totally true.  What’s true is that MSO is gone, again.  I get lonely without him.  It’s strange how much I miss him, strange to me because I’ve spent so many years alone and independent.  I miss my friends when I travel overseas, but this is different, a sharp feeling.

Althought it’s probably good that I’m alone and almost asleep.  I’m fighting off the beginnings of a cold.  It seemed to start with a lungful of plaster dust last weekend and a cough.  But now, well now it’s heading into a full blown cold with aches and all.

But back to that being alone thing.  I’m not truly alone.  It’s a three cat night.  One who purrs, is skittish and full of hairballs – a true typical cat.  One that is asthmatic, anorexic and a cuddleslut as MSO calls her.  And a fat one.  That one is mine.  She wasn’t fat until she had to live with two other cats.

Which brings me to my observation.  Cats, when crowded into close conditions eat more and get fat.  I think it’s a competition for food thing or pecking order as it were.  I think humans have the same thing.  Crowded into modern cities humans eat more and get fat.  Then there is the competition for the warm spot on the bed.  Competition for attention from the humans in the house.

Again I think modern humans are the same.  There is competition for the warm spot (large house, heated seats in your car) and competition for attention from the humans in the house oh I mean the other humans (think youtube).  It’s just our human, oh I mean, cat nature.  ;0

~ by mud on October 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
